AddThis Social Bookmark Button

AC/DC “For Those About To Rock (We Salute You)” /Digipack CD/

AC/DC “For Those About To Rock (We Salute You)” /Digipack CD/
zoom Zoom image

Second remastered re-release of the eighth Australian and seventh international full-length studio album by the legendary Australian Hard Rock band.
The album was a follow-up to their highly successful album “Back in Black”. While "Back In Black" was infused with the energy and spirit of paying tribute to Bon Scott, it became apparent on the follow-up that the band really did miss Scott more than it initially indicated. Brian Johnson's lyrics started to seem more calculated and a bit clichéd, lacking Scott's devil-may-care sense of humor. And the band itself slowed down the tempo frequently, sounding less aggressive and inspired.
On "For Those About to Rock We Salute You", the case for the band's talents is finally made with undeniable force and clarity. You want anthems? Here, they abound, from the title track's avalanche attack — complete with booming cannonades, of course — to "Night of the Long Knives," a rousing sing-along reminiscent of the classic mid-Sixties Anglo-pop tradition. All ten tunes are aimed straight at the band's testosterone-plagued audience, but the music and lyrics transcend mere calculation. True, in "Put the Finger on You", the helplessly horny protagonist's sexual member seems to have a life of its own ("I can't control it, can't even hold it ... I put it right on you"), but "C.O.D." takes a more wizened look at the consequences of such inchoate lust ("It's the curse of love"). This marginally broader lyrical outlook may again be attributable to Brian Johnson, who writes the songs with band-leader-guitarists Angus and Malcolm Young. Johnson's relatively wide ranging tastes are also apparent in the nicely nasty "Inject the Venom", in which he manages, rather charmingly, to sound like Lou Rawls with a beer gut.
Recorded in Paris, France, “For Those About To Rock (We Salute You)” was the third and final album produced for the band by Robert John "Mutt" Lange. The name of the album was inspired by a book Angus Young read, entitled “For Those About to Die, We Salute You”, about Roman gladiators. “For Those About To Rock” has sold over 4000000 copies in the US. It would be AC/DC's first and only No.1 album in the US Billboard chart until the release of “Black Ice” in October 2008. In Australia, the album peaked at No. 3 on the Kent Music Report Albums Chart. The album has sold an estimated 7000000 copies worldwide, making it one of the highest sold AC/DC albums worldwide. In their original 1981 review, Rolling Stone magazine declared it to be their best album.
The album was re-released in 2003 as part of the AC/DC remasters series.
Columbia/Sony Music Entertainment, 1981/2003 (510766 2). Made in Austria.

1. For Those About To Rock (We Salute You)     5:44 
2. I Put The Finger On You     3:25 
3. Let's Get It Up     3:54 
4. Inject The Venom     3:30 
5. Snowballed     3:23 
6. Evil Walks     4:23 
7. C.O.D.     3:19 
8. Breaking The Rules     4:23 
9. Night Of The Long Knives     3:25 
10. Spellbound     4:39
Total playing time: 40:05


Price: 11.90 €
Weight: 0.15 Kg

Shopping cart

Sum total:   0.00 €
Go to cart

Select a currency


0 Products - 0.00 €

Subscribe to newsletter

Sign in