AddThis Social Bookmark Button


zoom Zoom image

UK re-release on CD of debut full-length album by the legendary British Hardcore/Punk/Grindcore band.
As a rallying call for what seemed like millions of bands to follow, not to mention the launching point for the varying careers of Justin Broadrick, Nick Bullen, Mitch Harris, Lee Dorrian and Bill Steer, "Scum" deserves its reputation alone.
But it's also fun to listen to - a strange word to use, but no doubt about it, the album has its own brand of Rock & Roll kicks taken to an almost ridiculous extreme. Split between the original line-up, with Broadrick and Bullen, and the next one, with Dorrian, Steer and Shane Embury, "Scum" is a portrait of a place, time and state of mind.
Opener "Multinational Corporations" is the deep breath taken before the plunge: skittering cymbals, low-key feedback squalls, Bullen's rasped hatred - and then all hell breaks loose. The riffs by both the Broadrick/Bullen and Steer/Embury teams use hyperconcentrated Black Sabbath-via-Motörhead-and-Metallica approaches as starting points, but the moorings are cut loose when everyone concentrates on nothing but speed itself. The combination of hyperspeed drums, crazed but still just clear enough guitar and bass blurs, and utterly unintelligible vocals takes the "loud hard fast rules" conclusion to a logical extreme that the band's followers could only try to equal instead of better. Interspersed throughout all this on various songs are more obviously deliberate constructions - parts of the title track, say, or the focused chug-and-stomp start of "Siege of Power." They act as just enough pacing for the rampages elsewhere, where unrelenting, intense sound becomes its own part of weird ambient music, textures above all else. It's little surprise the free Jazz/Noise wing latched onto "Scum" as much as wound-up-as-hell headbangers did worldwide. That practically no song survives past two minutes - much less one - is all part of brusque do-the-job-and-do-no-more appeal. The most legendary number as a result: "You Suffer", running at a mere two seconds. "You Suffer" is listed in the Guinness Book of Records as the shortest song ever recorded, at 1.316 seconds.
Album was self-released by Napalm Death, but later Earache came across Napalm Death and made an official release of the full-length. The first half was also intended to be a part of a split with British hardcore act Avistic. The first pressing of the CD (1988) came as a 54-track CD including the "From Enslavement To Obliteration" album and 4 bonus tracks (which are the tracks from the EP "The Curse" minus the title track). In 1994, the first two albums were re-released separately.
"Scum" considered by many to be the first Grindcore album. In 2005, it was voted the 50th best British album of all time by Kerrang! readers, and in 2009 was ranked number 5 in Terrorizer's list of essential European Grindcore albums. "Scum" is listed in Robert Dimery's book "1001 Albums You Must Hear Before You Die".
Earache Records, 1987/1994 (MOSH 3 CD). Made in UK.

1. Multinational Corporations     1:05
2. Instinct Of Survival     2:28
3. The Kill     0:24
4. Scum     0:41
5. Caught...In A Dream     1:47
6. Polluted Minds     1:02
7. Sacrificed     1:08
8. Siege Of Power     4:03
9. Control     1:32
10. Born On Your Knees     1:51
11. Human Garbage     1:34
12. You Suffer     0:02
13. Life?     0:41
14. Prison Without Walls     0:37
15. Point Of No Return     0:33
16. Negative Approach     0:31
17. Success?     1:08
18. Deceiver     0:28
19. C.S.     1:13
20. Parasites     0:23
21. Pseudo Youth     0:40
22. Divine Death     1:21
23. As The Machine Rolls On     0:42
24. Common Enemy     0:15
25. Moral Crusade     1:31
26. Stigmatized     1:00
27. M.A.D.     1:34
28. Dragnet     1:01
Total playing time: 31:15


Price: 12.90 €

Shopping cart

Sum total:   0.00 €
Go to cart

Select a currency


0 Products - 0.00 €

Subscribe to newsletter

Sign in