AddThis Social Bookmark Button


zoom Zoom image

The second live album by legendary American Heavy/Thrash Metal band.
Metallica plays with The San Francisco Symphony Orchestra!
It was recorded on April 21–22, 1999 at The Berkeley Community Theatre. This is the final Metallica album to feature Jason Newsted as bassist.
"S&M" contains performances of Metallica songs with additional symphonic accompaniment, which was composed by Michael Kamen, who also conducted the orchestra during the concert. The idea to combine Heavy Metal with an epic classical approach, as James Hetfield has stated repeatedly, was an idea of Cliff Burton. Burton’s love of Classical Music, especially of Johann Sebastian Bach, can be traced back to many instrumental parts and melodic characteristics in Metallica’s songwriting including songs from "Ride The Lightning" and "Master Of Puppets". The other inspiration was Deep Purple's 1969 "Concerto For Group And Orchestra". Purple revived their hybrid musical performance in 1999's "Live At The Royal Albert Hall" after being notified that Metallica were doing their earlier that year.
In addition to songs from previous albums spanning "Ride The Lightning" through "Reload", there are two new compositions: "No Leaf Clover" and "- Human"!
"S&M" sold 300000 units in the first week of release, and went on to sell a total of 2.5 million copies. As of 2003, the album has been certified 5x Platinum.
2CD completed with 32 pages booklet!
Metallica/Vertigo, 1999 (546 797-2). Made in Germany.

CD 1
1. The Ecstasy Of Gold 2:30
2. The Call Of The Ktulu 9:34
3. Master Of Puppets 8:54
4. Of Wolf And Man 4:18
5. The Thing That Should Not Be 7:26
6. Fuel 4:35
7. The Memory Remains 4:42
8. No Leaf Clover 5:43
9. Hero Of The Day 4:44
10. Devil's Dance 5:26
11. Bleeding Me 9:01

CD 2
1. Nothing Else Matters 6:47
2. Until It Sleeps 4:29
3. For Whom The Bell Tolls 4:52
4. - Human 4:19
5. Wherever I May Roam 7:01
6. Outlaw Torn 9:58
7. Sad But True 5:46
8. One 7:53
9. Enter Sandman 7:39
10. Battery 7:24
Total playing time: 133:01

Price: 11.90 €
Weight: 0.15 Kg

Shopping cart

Sum total:   0.00 €
Go to cart

Select a currency


0 Products - 0.00 €

Subscribe to newsletter

Sign in