AddThis Social Bookmark Button

WHITESNAKE “Forevermore” /Ltd. Digipack CD + DVD/

WHITESNAKE “Forevermore” /Ltd. Digipack CD + DVD/
zoom Zoom image

The eleventh full-length album by the legendary British Hard Rock band.
Three years ago, Whitesnake released "Good To Be Bad", a comeback album that reached the U.K.’s Top 5. It walked the line between their brand of U.K. Hard Rock and ‘80s Glam Metal. On "Forevermore", David Coverdale polishes the production - a tad - focuses the guitars more, and successfully fuses Whitesnake's various eras, and succeeds in spades. There is a new rhythm section with drummer Brian Tichy and bassist Michael Devlin.
"Forevermore" commences with “Steal Your Heart Away”, an oldschool, nasty, slide guitar workout with a harmonica solo, that revs into a full-blown Blues-rocker with a killer chorus. Guitarists Doug Aldrich and Reb Beach shine on the instrumental bridge. The album's first single, "Love Will Set You Free", is top-notch Whitesnake that nods back to the early years while grounding itself in the present. "All Out of Luck" and "Tell Me How" measure up in the same way. "I Need You (Shine a Light)" is an enormous surprise; its hook is so infectious it sounds like Coverdale's been listening to Cheap Trick's earliest records. The acoustic midtempo ballad "One Of These Days" carries a trace of country in its melody, hearkening back to the "Restless Heart" era. Coverdale reveals he's more than competent to write a fine, lyrically savvy love song, when he’s not thinking with his dick. "Fare Thee Well", another acoustic number, showcases Coverdale at his most intimate. "Whipping Boy Blues” is a dirty slide rocker that reconciles both sides of the band. "My Evil Ways", with its calamitous drum intro, is punishing; Coverdale pulls out all the stops to deliver his finest vocal performance on the set. The album's true highlight, however, is in the closing title track. Over seven minutes, it begins as an acoustic number before morphing into a stellar Whitesnake power ballad. After a two-and-a-half minute acoustic guitar/vocal intro, the band enters with a "Kashmir"-like chord sequence; they keep it slow but increase the drama; it eventually explodes into a bone crusher with killer guitar solos and a gorgeous melody.
"Forevermore", despite its tighter arrangements and more polished production is Whitesnake at its Brit Hard Rock best!!
Limited Edition includes three bonus tracks and bonus DVD!
Frontiers Records, 2011 (FR CDVD 509). Made in Italy. First press. Used: very good.

1. Steal Your Heart Away 5:18
2. All Out Of Luck 5:28
3. Love Will Set You Free 3:52
4. Easier Said Than Done 5:12
5. Tell Me How 4:41
6. I Need You (Shine A Light) 3:49
7. One Of These Days 4:53
8. Love & Treat Me Right 4:14
9. Dogs In The Street 3:48
10. Fare Thee Well 5:18
11. Whipping Boy Blues 5:01
12. My Evil Ways 4:33
13. Forevermore 7:22

Bonus Tracks:
14. Love Will Set You Free (Alt Mix) 4:09
15. Forevermore (Acoustic Version) 4:42
16. My Evil Ways (My Evil Drums Mix) 4:51

1. Making Of Forevermore 11:20
2. Forevermore: Track By Track 8:34
3. Love Will Set You Free (Music Video) 3:56
4. Making Of Love Will Set You Free 10:43
Total playing time: 111:44

Price: 14.90 €
Weight: 0.3 Kg

Shopping cart

Sum total:   0.00 €
Go to cart

Select a currency


0 Products - 0.00 €

Subscribe to newsletter

Sign in