AddThis Social Bookmark Button

NAPALM DEATH “From Enslavement To Obliteration” + “Death By Manipulation” /CD/

NAPALM DEATH “From Enslavement To Obliteration” + “Death By Manipulation” /CD/
zoom Zoom image
NAPALM DEATH “From Enslavement To Obliteration” + “Death By Manipulation” /CD/ NAPALM DEATH “From Enslavement To Obliteration” + “Death By Manipulation” /CD/ NAPALM DEATH “From Enslavement To Obliteration” + “Death By Manipulation” /CD/

The second full-length studio album and the second compilation album, at one CD, by legendary British Grindcore/Death Metal band.

"From Enslavement To Obliteration" is the second full-length album by the band.
It's perhaps the most definite, pure first Grindcore album ever made! It’s grindcore in its purest form!! Short and immediate songs with sped up Crust Thrash riffs, ripping growls and screams and blasting, chaotic drum work. "From Enslavement To Obliteration" a Grindcore classic, foremost example of the genre!! For all Extreme Metal fans, both for historical and musical reasons!!!
It is the only Napalm Death album to feature Lee Dorrian as the sole vocalist, which created thereafter a band Cathedral.

“Death By Manipulation” is the second compilation album of the band, that features tracks from four various EPs.
Since practically inventing the sound of Grindcore on "Scum", Napalm Death underwent a major lineup shuffling, which is well chronicled for convenient comparison on the "Death By Manipulation" compilation. Six songs come from the band's 1989 "Mentally Murdered" EP and feature vocalist Lee Dorrian and guitarist Bill Steer, who would leave Napalm Death to lead Cathedral and Carcass, respectively. "Rise Above" stands out as the strongest of these six songs with its lumbering intro, which leads into possibly the most ferocious human growl ever put to vinyl. Following Dorrian's wall-shaking banshee yell, the quartet then breaks into a whirlwind of calamitous noise, characterized by the cyclical Grind of Steer's sole guitar and drummer Mick "Human Tornado" Harris' ear-covering barrage of hammering percussion. Seven songs come from the "Mass Appeal Madness" EP and "Harmony Corruption" LP, both featuring vocalist Barney Greenway in place of Dorrian and the guitarist duo of Jesse Pintado and Mitch Harris in place of Steer. This new lineup tends to extend the songs past the two-minute mark and brings more variation to the band's sound with their dual guitar attack's versatility relative to the limited though still remarkable abilities of Steer as the sole guitarist. These formal characteristics become glaringly evident on "Mass Appeal Madness" and "Suffer the Children", two songs that more resemble Death Metal than Grindcore. The tempos fluctuate throughout the songs, offering more musical variation than the oft-homogenous, nonstop, unrelenting eardrum assault of the classic lineup's attempts to incite heart attacks. Perhaps the most interesting moment of this collection comes when the new lineup performs new versions of the classic lineup's anthems "Unchallenged Hate" and "Social Sterility", offering opportunities for insightful comparison.
Overall, "Death By Manipulation" not only captures this infamous band undergoing a controversial transition but also serves as an excellent compilation for listeners curious about the band's different musical phases.
Earache reissued "Death By Manipulation" in 1995, resequencing the track order, adding numerous more songs, and appending three live bonus tracks taken from "Live Corruption".

24 bit digitally remastered.
AGAT Company Ltd., 1988/1991/1995/2003 (A-ND88). Made in Russia. Bootleg.

“From Enslavement To Obliteration”
1. Evolved as One 03:14
2. It's a M.A.N.S. World 00:54
3. Lucid Fairytale 01:02
4. Private Death 00:36
5. Impressions 00:35
6. Unchallenged Hate 02:08
7. Uncertainty Blurs the Vision 00:41
8. Cock-Rock Alienation 01:20
9. Retreat to Nowhere 00:31
10. Think for a Minute 01:43
11. Display to Me... 02:44
12. From Enslavement to Obliteration 01:35
13. Blind to the Truth 00:22
14. Social Sterility 01:04
15. Emotional Suffocation 01:06
16. Practice What You Preach 01:24
17. Inconceivable? 01:07
18. Worlds Apart 01:25
19. Obstinate Direction 01:02
20. Mentally Murdered 02:14
21. Sometimes 01:06
22. Make Way! 01:37
23. Musclehead 00:50
24. Your Achievement 00:06
25. Dead 00:05
26. Morbid Deceiver 00:45
27. The Curse 3:17

“Death By Manipulation”
1. Mass Appeal Madness 3:29
2. Pride Assassin 2:05
3. Unchallenged Hate 2:07
4. Social Sterility 1:13
5. Suffer the Children 4:20
6. Siege of Power 3:33
7. Harmony Corruption (instrumental) 3:32
8. Rise Above 2:42
9. The Missing Link 2:17
10. Mentally Murdered 2:11
11. Walls of Confinemen 2:56
12. Cause and Effect 1:26
13. No Mental Effort 4:08
14. Multinational Corporations Pt. 2 1:32
15. Re-address the Problem 0:33
16. Changing Colours 0:57
17. From the Ashes 0:49
18. Understanding 0:07
19. Stalemate 1:09
20. Unchallenged Hate (live) 2:16

Tracks 1-4 taken from “Mass Appeal Madness” EP (1991)
Tracks 5-7 taken from “Suffer the Children” EP (1990)
Tracks 8-13 taken from “Mentally Murdered” EP (1989)
Tracks 14-19 taken from “Napalm Death/S.O.B.” Split EP (1989)
Track 20 taken from “Live Corruption” Live (1992)

Total playing time: 78:40 min.


Price: 7.90 €
Weight: 0.15 Kg

Shopping cart

Sum total:   0.00 €
Go to cart

Select a currency


0 Products - 0.00 €

Subscribe to newsletter

Sign in