AddThis Social Bookmark Button

ATROCITY “Werk 80” /CD/

ATROCITY “Werk 80” /CD/
zoom Zoom image

Third re-release of the fifth full-length album by legendary German Industrial Gothic Metal band.
The Atrocity's first full-length album with cover versions of popular 1980s songs.
Atrocity is one of the most experimental Metal bands of all times. From Grindcore to Symphonic Metal and everything between, there isn't much left the band hasn't tried out in its long career. Even for such an Eclectic band, ''Werk 80'' was a quite surprising release that got the band some minor mainstream success while more traditional Extreme Metal fans of the band's early years didn't dig the band's new experiment. ''Werk 80'' offers cover versions of national and international Pop and Rock songs of the eighties. The band's song selection turns out being as eclectic as the band itself and varies from international smash hits from David Bowie and Duran Duran to less known German underground tracks from And One and D.A.F. to only name a few examples.
The band mostly used a cool, dark and low Industrial Rock and Metal sound for their interpretations that would get some critical acclaim from the German Alternative and Gothic scene where new genres such as Neue Deutsche Härte in the key of Rammstein and Neue Deutsche Todeskunst in the vein of Das Ich were on the rise. ''Werk 80'' dominated by low and almost emotionless vocals, simplistic and heavy riffs, minimalist keyboard patterns and an almost robotic rhythm section. Many songs actually sound like danceable march music with a martial vibe.
The cover artworks of this record and the different singles with a lot of sexual appeal only add to the fact that the band tried to shock more conservative minds.
Even though they sold out in their later years, Atrocity continues making great music. "Werk 80" is a mix of great hits from the 80's, covered by Atrocity! All those things from the 80's that you can't stop love, now 'metalized'!!
Absolute musthave!!!
Second remastered re-edition features five bonus tracks!
Napalm Records Handels GmbH, 1997/2013 (NPR 220). Made in Germany.

1. Shout (featuring Liv Kristine) 6:30
2. Rage Heart (featuring Liv Kristine) 5:00
3. Wild Boys 4:13
4. The Great Commandments 3:32
5. Send Me An Angel (featuring Liv Kristine) 3:50
6. Tainted Love 2:50
7. Der Mussolini (featuring Liv Kristine) 3:50
8. Being Boiled 3:52
9. Don't Go 3:04
10. Let's Dance 5:14
11. Maid Of Orleans (featuring Liv Kristine) 4:11
Bonus tracks:
12. Das Letzte Mal 3:34
13. Die Deutschmaschine (featuring Liv Kristine) 4:26
14. Verschwende Deine Jugend 3:56
15. Tainted Love (Albrin-Mix) 3:06
16. Shout 6:31
Total playing time: 67:39 min.

Track 1: Originally performed by Tears For Fears
Track 2: Originally performed by Frankie Goes To Hollywood
Track 3: Originally performed by Duran Duran
Track 4: Originally performed by Camouflage
Track 5: Originally performed by Real Life
Track 6: Originally performed by Soft Cell
Track 7: Originally performed by DAF
Track 8: Originally performed by Human League
Track 9: Originally performed by Yazoo
Track 10: Originally performed by David Bowie
Track 11: Originally performed by Orchestral Manoeuvres in the Dark
Track 12: Originally performed by DAF
Track 13: Originally performed by Joke Jay
Track 14: Originally performed by DAF
Track 15: Originally performed by Soft Cell
Track 16: Originally performed by Tears For Fears

Price: 11.90 €
Weight: 0.15 Kg

Shopping cart

Sum total:   0.00 €
Go to cart

Select a currency


0 Products - 0.00 €

Subscribe to newsletter

Sign in