AddThis Social Bookmark Button

ABBA "Ring Ring" /CD/

ABBA "Ring Ring" /CD/
zoom Zoom image
ABBA "Ring Ring" /CD/ ABBA "Ring Ring" /CD/ ABBA "Ring Ring" /CD/ ABBA "Ring Ring" /CD/ ABBA "Ring Ring" /CD/

Remastered re-release of the debut full-length studio album by legendary Swedish Pop band.
If it seems as though the familiar ABBA sound isn't present on this album, that's because there was no entity known as ABBA at the time that the earliest sides here were recorded. Growing out of an attempt by Benny Andersson and Bjorn Ulvaeus to record together with their respective companions, Agnetha Faltskog and Frida "Anni-Frid" Lyngstad, the first side cut here, "People Need Love", featured the two men singing just as prominently as the women, and was credited to Bjorn and Benny, Agnetha and Anni-Frid. It was only after its release and the cutting of a further single, "Ring, Ring", that the more familiar sound of the quartet began to coalesce along with the idea of a permanent professional association.
This album is more of a generic European Pop release than an ABBA release; the music has several unusual attributes, including Andersson and Ulvaeus singing lead on several cuts, and also one original song, the moody ballad "Disillusion", co-authored by Agnetha Faltskog. Most of what's here is pleasantly upbeat Europop, with unusually good playing and a lot of spirit, all showing the influence of mainstream American and British Pop/Rock, including the late-era Beatles and early Elton John, and on the title track, a Phil Spector-proportioned production.
At the beginning, the album was released on vinyl and cassettes in Scandinavia and a limited number of other territories (including Germany, Australia, South Africa and Mexico) under band-name Björn & Benny, Agnetha & Frida. Later, it was re-released in Australasia in 1975, but was not released in the United Kingdom until 1992, and the United States until 1995. First time on CD "Ring Ring" was released in Sweden, in 1988; a West German CD release followed in 1990. Later it was released internationally. The album has been reissued in digitally remastered form three times; first in 1997, then in 2001 and again in 2005.
"Ring Ring" was a chart-topping album in Belgium, and has a big success in the Netherlands, Norway and South Africa.
Re-release includes a color 24-page booklet.
Polar Music International AB/Universal Music Australia, 1970/1972/1973/2001 (549 950-2). Made in Australia.


01. Ring, Ring 3:05
02. Another Town, Another Train 3:12
03. Disillusion 3:03
04. People Need Love 2:45
05. I Saw It In The Mirror 2:33
06. Nina, Pretty Ballerina 2:51
07. Love Isn't Easy (But It Sure Is Hard Enough) 2:54
08. Me And Bobby And Bobby's Brother 2:50
09. He Is Your Brother 3:18
10. She's My Kind Of Girl 2:44
11. I Am Just A Girl 3:01
12. Rock 'n' Roll Band 3:09
Bonus Tracks:
13. Merry-Go-Round 3:24
14. Santa Rosa 2:59
15. Ring, Ring (In Swedish) 3:10

Total playing time: 45:21 min.

Price: 10.90 €
Weight: 0.15 Kg

Shopping cart

Sum total:   0.00 €
Go to cart

Select a currency


0 Products - 0.00 €

Subscribe to newsletter

Sign in