AddThis Social Bookmark Button

OPETH "Morningrise" /Digisleeve CD/

OPETH "Morningrise" /Digisleeve CD/
zoom Zoom image

Re-release of the second full-length studio album by cult Swedish Progressive Death Metal band.
"Morningrise" showcases Opeth's signature style, exploring the dynamics between the combination of Black Metal and Death Metal vocals, and guitar parts with lighter Progressive and acoustic elements.
While they have taken a different approach with each album, Opeth has a very distinct and instantly recognizable sound: somber, mysterious, and very serious. Their style falls at a meeting point between Melodic Swedish Death Metal and '70s Progressive Rock, though without any of the technical busyness that description might imply.
"Morningrise" contains their longest songs - just five of them, ranging in length from 10 to 20 minutes. The tracks all take their time developing, shifting back and forth from full-on Metal sections (marked by distorted dual guitar riffs and growling vocals) to calm, acoustic guitar-based passages with more softly sung vocals. These shifts happen much like scenes changes in a movie, as there is very little repetition within the songs, and there are sometimes distinct pauses separating one section from the next.
In fact, given the strongly narrative lyrics (which primarily revolve around the subject of a lost lover), the tracks here could best be described as miniature audio movies.
"Morningrise" was the last Opeth album produced by Swanö. It was also the last Opeth release with drummer Anders Nordin and bassist Johan De Farfalla. The album was very well received by critics, with some calling it "epic" and "perfect".
This is a very painstakingly put-together album, and listeners will have to have some patience in order to mentally piece it all together. Some will be turned off by the long songs and the cold, gray atmosphere the album gives off, but for those who are on this band's wavelength and willing to show some patience, this album will repay many, many repeat listens!!
Re-edition includes bonus track “Eternal Soul Torture”. Released in a cardboard gatefold sleeve with 12-page booklet.
Tanglade Ltd./Candlelight/Spinefarm Records, 1996/2016 (CANDLE724767). Made in EU.

1. Advent 13:46
2. The Night And The Silent Water 11:00
3. Nectar 10:09
4. Black Rose Immortal 20:14
5. To Bid You Farewell 10:57
Bonus Track:
6. Eternal Soul Torture 8:35
Total playing time: 74:37 min.

Price: 9.90 €
Weight: 0.15 Kg

Shopping cart

Sum total:   0.00 €
Go to cart

Select a currency


0 Products - 0.00 €

Subscribe to newsletter

Sign in