AddThis Social Bookmark Button

AC/DC “Powerage” /LP/

AC/DC “Powerage” /LP/
zoom Zoom image

First remastered re-release of the fifth Australian and fourth international full-length studio album by Australian Hard Rock band.
Powerage was a first in the sense that it debuted bassist Cliff Williams, but it really is more of a final curtain to the band's early years. It would be the last produced by Vanda & Young, the legendary Australian production team who also helmed hits by the Easybeats, and it was the last before AC/DC became superstars. As such, it's perhaps the most overlooked of their '70s records, also because, frankly, it is the most uneven of them. Not that it's a bad record - far from it, actually. There are a few genuine classics here, most notably "Down Payment Blues" and "Up to My Neck in You", and there's a real appeal in how Bon Scott's gutter poems of excess are reaching a mythic level; there's a real sense that he truly does believe that Rock & Roll leads straight to hell on "Rock 'n' Roll Damnation".
This is the first AC/DC album to be released nearly simultaneously in both Australian and international markets, and the first to use just one cover image for both. It was also the first to feature the same track listing on all versions, with the exception of the European vinyl edition (specifically, the first UK pressing of the LP). This version included "Cold Hearted Man", a song that was not previously released, and would not be released on any other AC/DC album until 2009's AC/DC “Backtracks” box set.
Album reached No. 133 on Billboard's Pop Albums chart in the US, eventually going Platinum there. In 2005, “Powerage” was ranked number 325 in Rock Hard magazine's book of “The 500 Greatest Rock & Metal Albums of All Time”. Kerrang! magazine listed the album at No. 26 among the "100 Greatest Heavy Metal Albums of All Time".
“Powerage” was re-released in 2003 as part of the AC/DC Remasters series.
Sony Music Entertainment/Columbia/J. Albert & Son (PTY) Ltd., 1978/2003 (5107621). Made in EU. 180 gram vinyl.

Side One:
1. Rock 'n' Roll Damnation 3:37
2. Down Payment Blues 6:03
3. Gimme A Bullet 3:21
4. Riff Raff 5:11

Side Two:
5. Sin City 4:45
6. What's Next To The Moon 3:31
7. Gone Shootin' 5:05
8. Up To My Neck In You 4:13
9. Kicked In The Teeth 4:03
Total playing time: 39:49


Price: 17.90 €
Weight: 0.5 Kg
Not available

Shopping cart

Sum total:   0.00 €
Go to cart

Select a currency


0 Products - 0.00 €

Subscribe to newsletter

Sign in